top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSyifa

Good Eats - Restaurant With Truck Parking





When you are a truck driver, you often find the only place you can count on sitting food is at one of the many truck stops out there. Petro has an Iron Skillet, TA has a Pride of the Country, Flying J has a State Market. But the same, old-sama makes you miss more every time.


The problem is that large rigs can be 75 feet long or more. We can't just walk into a Chilean parking lot, honk, and say, "We're here." Our choices are often limited by the size of our vehicle. However, over the years, I have found a number of places to park my rig that makes my stomach happy.


Beef House


In Covington, Indiana, at I 74 at exit 4, there is a Pilot truck stop. Right across the street, is one of the best restaurants I have ever visited. This is called The Beef House. They are open for lunch or dinner. A good steak dinner for two will set you back around $ 40 or $ 50 depending on what you order. I chose the filet mignon - and I promise, it's worth dump truck hino every cent. There's not a bit of fat in it, it's wrapped in bacon and old. I have never tried it but I imagine you can cut it with your fork, very soft. They have a meat counter and you can buy from them and bring them with you to bake later. They have a fresh salad bar that comes with food and wonderful soup (also included). Their service is top rate. Many people eat wearing suits and dresses, but you can wear jeans and T-shirts if you choose, and you won't feel foreign. There are two buildings - a banquet hall and a restaurant. Be sure to go to the restaurant (not the banquet hall) - it's a building further west. They have space for a few trucks to park in the gravel area on their land, but, for the less brave, you can park in the Pilot. It is within walking distance.

(765) 793-3947


Nick's Catfish and BBQ


In Carlisle, Arkansas, on I40 at exit 183, there is a small restaurant that is not much visible outside. Come to think of it, it doesn't look like much inside either, but what comes out of the kitchen deserves to be stopped. I have never had BBQ but I have a friend who has ordered and was very happy with it. Catfish are some of the best things I've ever had. This is not a place to eat if you go on a diet, but if you are looking for good food, that's for sure. They have limited trucks and parking on their land. They are only a little further south of I 40 on Route 13.

(870) 552-3887 or (870) 552-7845


Tower


In Carson, California, on the 405 freeway at the exit of Wilmington Ave, there is a restaurant with food that will rival your favorite "chain" restaurant. There is only legal parking for 2 or 3 trucks on the road (unless you bobtail - then you can load it in the parking lot). They are marked by 1 hour truck parking and long enough for a large rig. I can't even begin to study their menu offerings - meatloaf, roast, stir-fry, salad ... I've never heard anyone dissatisfied with their choices. The wait staff has been top notch anytime I have eaten there. I know the drivers' who have parked their rig a mile away in the parking zone and walked to Spiers to get good food. Definitely worth a trip around the block to get a truck parking.

(310) 830-8170


Casa De Fruta


Right outside Hollister, California, on route 152 (between Gilroy and Santa Nella) thre is a restaurant with a twist. Food is not the main attraction here, although it is a very pleasant change from the truck stop restaurant. This place is the whole casa de EVENT - there is a wine shop and wine tasting (not before you drive), a sweet shop, and a fruit and nut shop. I have never stopped there other than to eat fast or bed until recently when a friend of mine told me about trains. I didn't know there was more than fruit and food there. From the map where you can see they have a small train, a zoo and a group of peacocks walking around. This restaurant is 24 hours a day and has a variety of choices. I only had breakfast there, but it was very good.


Sam


In Fairfield, Texas, at I 45 at exit 197, there is a restaurant good enough to make Sam Houston proud. Another driver suggested dinner at Sam, and, to be honest, at first glance I didn't expect much. The outside of the building looks like a truck that stops along corridor I 45, but what is inside the wall will surprise you. This place has a small souvenir shop with all kinds of nick-knacks to explore

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page